Home: Putting Up Gutters

I’ve had to put gutters in my garage just for purposes of collecting rain water for my garden and watering my grass. A friend who has had asked me to do numerous house projects for him do to some “physical challenges” asked me to do some this past summer. However, it was my first time to put a set of 3-4+ instead of just one…

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

..A lesson I learned was the need to angle it in a way “more than” I actually did. This was a “small mistake” that I wished I could re do again. This is why I did this blog to help those who plan to put gutter NOT to repeat the same mistake I did. I was able to correct it towards the end of the other side where the downspout was located…

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Some other tips I recommend from my personal experience is putting “new” rubber stoppers BEFORE putting all the gutters up…

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMugPhoto & Video Sharing by SmugMug

The owner and I had to purchase new “rubber” stoppers after I put up the gutters, which ended-up taking “extra time”. Unfortunately the hardware closes on Sundays, so the owner ended up getting them out of town. By the time he got back, it was raining. Thus, I had to finish it the next day.

Here is the “final pic” of what it looks after it was all connected..

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

How to Install Drain Gutters Video

How to Install Rain Gutters
A step-by-step guide to a most diverting project

JOSEPH TRUINITHIS OLD HOUSE MAGAZINE thisoldhouse.com
“For homes in most regions of the country, rain gutters and downspouts are necessary to collect and carry away rainwater. Without them, water would erode the soil around the foundation, splash dirt onto the siding and likely leak into the basement or crawlspace.

Gutters are most often installed by professionals, but there’s no reason you can’t do it yourself. The all the materials and accessories are readily available at home centers, lumberyards and through roofing-supply firms. And if you’re going to replace your gutters and downspouts, you may as well upgrade the entire look and performance of the rainwater system.

Here, we’ll show how to install reproduction half-round gutters that are exact replicas of the size and style gutters found on older homes. This system features corrugated downspouts and decorative cast-aluminum brackets….

Any other tips, suggestions, or stories of putting gutters from your own experience?

Good News Home
https://www.facebook.com/groups/584727034871009/

Leave a comment